Bored of all your old nonprofit business books? Like book launches?

Here’s some info on three new business books for nonprofits by nonprofit marketing and social media experts that we trust and respect.  These books have just come out or are now available for pre-order.  Congrats, y’all!

The Nonprofit Marketing Guide: High-Impact, Low-Cost Ways to Market Your Good Cause – Kivi Leroux Miller

If you are overwhelmed with the communications possibilities available to your association, Kivi Leroux Miller’s new book, The Nonprofit Marketing Guide: High-Impact, Low-Cost Ways to Market Your Good Cause can help. Kivi was frustrated that there wasn’t a real-world, easy-to-read guide on how to do marketing in the nonprofit world, so she wrote it. It’s a combination of strategy and tactics that goes deep enough to get you really thinking about how you approach marketing, but is still light enough to carry around without causing back pain.

There are chapters on listening, developing powerful messages, being seen as an expert source, empowering your supporters, and more — and how to do it all without doing yourself in, which all association staff can appreciate!

Kivi is sharing wisdom from the book across several of our favorite blogs this month on her Virtual Book Tour.

She’s also hosting two in-person book parties, a happy hour in DC this Friday, June 11 (that’s tomorrow!), and a porch party in Raleigh, NC on June 17. Everyone’s invited, but please do RSVP if you are planning to attend.

The Networked Nonprofit – Beth Kanter and Allison Fine

So excited too for Beth and Allison’s new book.  Per the Amazon description:  ”This groundbreaking book shows nonprofits a new way of operating in our increasingly connected world: a networked approach enabled by social technologies, where connections are leveraged to increase impact in effective ways that drive change for the betterment of our society and planet.”

Beth says:

You are invited to a virtual book launch party! Join Allison Fine and me on June 21st at 1-2 PM PST/4-5 PM EST for the launch of The Networked Nonprofit published by Jossey-Bass. Our party goal: Make The Networked Nonprofit a top ten bestseller in Amazon.com’s business book section before the book is issued (Official release date: July 9).

Whether you want to watch Allison and I live on your computer or just chat with us on Twitter, the party will be a blast. (I promise to bring my finger puppets)

And if you are going to buy a copy, please wait until the party and to preorder your copy on Amazon. Together as a group we can make The Networked Nonprofit a business bestsellers! Plus, I’m donating all of my profits to the Sharing Foundation, which helps to care for Cambodia’s children. Allison is donating to the Hope for Henry Foundation, which provides gifts to children in hospitals with chronic diseases.”

There’s also a webinar hosted by Care2 on June 17 where Beth and Allison will discuss the book.

Social Networking for Nonprofits: Increasing Engagement in a Mobile and Web 2.0 World – Andy Steggles [and us!]

We have a chapter on outposts in this new book by Andy Steggles, available soon from the ASAE bookstore.  Here’s the description:

  • Gain a functional understanding of popular social networking tools such as Facebook, Linked-In, Blogs, Twitter, and other social platforms.
  • Delve deeper into how you can leverage these social technologies to achieve your organizational objectives.
  • Explore nondues revenue opportunities and customer or member engagement strategies on the social web.
  • Set practical and relevant measures for success.

It’s available for pre-order here.  There’s also a book launch party on June 14 at 6:30 pm at L’Enfant Plaza Hotel in DC.  Contact Lauren Wolfe (lauren [at] higherlogic.com) if you’d like more info.  W00t!

{ 2 comments }

Beth Kanter June 10, 2010 at 11:13 am

Here’s another excellent read to add to the list – Digital Activism Decoded by Mary Joyce

Pamela Z July 21, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Another new release with speaking tips for nonprofit professionals is ‘Giving Voice to Your Cause’ on Amazon.

Comments on this entry are closed.

{ 4 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: